Skip to content

Update: John Yoo Register Interview

March 7, 2009

The Orange County Register (California’s OC) interviewed John Yoo, a transcript of which was printed in yesterday’s paper. You can see it here.

Two of his statements could make one wonder if he’s planning to be a vociferous critic of the Obama administration. What do you think?

  • “These memos I wrote were not for public consumption. They lack a certain polish, I think – would have been better to explain government policy rather than try to give unvarnished, straight-talk legal advice. I certainly would have done that differently, but I don’t think I would have made the basic decisions differently.”
  • “Now that I’m not in the government, part of my role, because I have a certain amount of expertise, is to try to keep the government honest.”

Polished honesty. If England had been more “polished,” I’m sure there wouldn’t have been a revolution.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

